for Adameeeeeee

My buddy Adam[eeeeeee] {twin, if you will recall from my last post; we’re 21, and have the same eyes…} is speaking at a few camps this summer and asked for people to share their stories with him in order to share with others. I’ve chatted with him about life and such before, and he’s such an encouragement. Just the other day he was encouraging me after I prayed for him and his first speaking engagement. Anyway, I thought I’d share my answers to his 3 questions. Maybe it can encourage someone else, remind you of something you already knew, remind you to pray for Adam as he speaks this summer…. I have no idea. Just thought I’d throw this out there.

img_4156-1

1. Why do I follow Jesus?

That’s an excellent question. I’m so thankful to have grown up in a home with parents who love God and taught me about Him. It really is all I’ve ever known. But that’s not why I still follow Him. I made that choice for myself. Every day, really. I think it boils down to what 1 John 4:19 says: “We love him, because he first loved us.” [yes, I had to search for the reference…] I know His love for real in my life. I couldn’t do life without God and I honestly don’t know how people make it through hard things on their own. Jesus is amazing. He carries me through the hard times, celebrates the good things with me, and loves loving me.

 

2. What would Jesus be teaching if I were listening in ancient Israel?

LOVE GOD. LOVE OTHERS.

He loves you. YOU. Just as you are.

 

3. Most influential Scripture in my life:

In the past years, it has definitely been Isaiah 43:1-5. A friend gave it to me to cling to after my husband left me. I knew God wasn’t about to leave me too, but I felt so deceived, unloved, rejected, and abandoned. This got me through a lot of nights {and let’s be serious, other times of the days} that I just sat and cried out of loneliness and abandonment. It says:

But now thus says the Lord,

he who created you, O Jacob,

    he who formed you, O Israel:

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;

    I have called you by name, you are mine.

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;

    and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;

when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,

    and the flame shall not consume you.

For I am the Lord your God,

    the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.

I give Egypt as your ransom,

    Cush and Seba in exchange for you.

Because you are precious in my eyes,

    and honored, and I love you,

I give men in return for you,

    peoples in exchange for your life.

Fear not, for I am with you;

    I will bring your offspring from the east,

    and from the west I will gather you.

From <https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=isaiah+43&version=ESV>  {emphasis mine. and yes, I’ve shared this passage a bunch of times before. I’m not likely going to stop…}

Woah. HE KNOWS MY NAME, AND I AM HIS. Garbage times will come, that’s a promise, but I will not be overwhelmed, burned, or consumed. God will trade nations, countries, riches… for ME. HE. LOVES. ME. He will take care of me. Carry me. IS. WITH. ME. He has redeemed me. ME. God loves everyone, yes. But also, God loves MEEEE!!!!!!

More recently, I was struck with a back injury just before I was supposed to go to Africa for a few months to serve God on a hospital ship. I doubt I’ll ever know exactly why God allowed that to happen, but I do know He is still good. And He still loves me and is taking care of me. He did use that time flat on my back to teach me. And my slow healing process is, I think, I hope, continuing to teach me and helping me grow closer to God.

The Bible does not promise an easy life. Over and over, it promises that there will actually be really hard times. But along with that, it promises that God will take care of us and never ever leave us. This is what this passage reminds me of, over and over again. Through every rough time that comes. GOD CARRIES ME. BECAUSE HE LOVES ME.

{mic drop}

 

UPDATE: after reading my little post, Adam said nice things about me again! and I promise I have never paid him! But much much much infinitely more exciting, he texted and told me he had gotten to see NINE BOYS GIVE THEIR LIVES TO JESUS!!!!! YAHOO!!!! that heavenly party is so much better than the wicked awesome rodeo I got to witness today. PRAISE JESUS!!! I’m so grateful He uses broken people like us to share His awesome love. God is so good. Please keep praying for Adam as he speaks at camps, me when I get back to camp nursing [next week], and all the fabulous camp staff members. It takes a lot of energy from a lot of people. But most of all, GOD. eeeeeee!!!! SO. EXCITING. ❤

One thought on “for Adameeeeeee

Leave a comment